WSAVA Welcomes New Committee Chairs

The World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA) has announced a number of new Chairs for its clinical committees. Comprised of experts from around the world, each of its 12 clinical committees focuses on a specific area of companion animal practice, creating WSAVA Global Guidelines and other educational resources in support of the association’s goal to advance global companion animal veterinary practice by setting global standards and providing continuing education (CE).

New Co-chairs for WSAVA Global Pain Council (GPC)

Dr Paulo Steagall and Dr Jo Murrell have been appointed as Co-chairs of the WSAVA Global Pain Council, which works to create a global environment for companion animals in which pain is considered as the fourth vital sign and addressed appropriately.

Dr Steagall is a Professor of Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia at the City University of Hong Kong. His research is focused on animal welfare and pain management and includes notable achievements, including the development of the Feline Grimace Scale. He is a former member of the GPC and was Co-chair of the WSAVA’s Therapeutic Guidelines Group until September 2023.

Dr Murrell works in referral practice in the UK, following an academic career, most recently at Bristol University, where she carried out studies investigating pain mechanisms and clinical analgesic protocols in cats, dogs and horses. These studies contributed to the Market Authorisation of methadone and buprenorphine in dogs and cats and buprenorphine in horses.

Dr Steagall and Dr Murrell succeed Dr Bea Monteiro.

New Chair for WSAVA Oncology Working Group

Dr Ann Hohenhaus is the new Chair of the WSAVA’s Oncology Working Group, which aims to advance oncology care within the global veterinary community through education and raising awareness of effective and accessible treatments for pets with cancer.

Dr Hohenhaus has practiced oncology at the Schwarzman Animal Medical Center in New York City, USA, for more than 30 years and writes regularly for the veterinary literature and for a wide range of other media outlets. She also participates in global continuing education and lectures extensively around the world.

Dr Hohenhaus succeeds Dr Martin Soberano.

New Chair for WSAVA Scientific Committee

Dr Jane Sykes has been appointed Chair of the WSAVA’s Scientific Committee, which ensures that WSAVA clinical guidance and its educational offerings are grounded in the best possible evidence-based science by providing expert peer review to the association.

Dr Sykes is a Professor at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine with a special interest in small animal infectious diseases. She also holds leadership roles at the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and the International Society for Companion Animal Infectious Diseases.

Dr Sykes succeeds Dr Frédéric Gaschen.

Commenting on the appointments, WSAVA President Dr Ellen van Nierop said: “Our Chairs lead their committees with great dedication and ensure that the resources and continuing education they create support our goals of setting global standards of care for companion animals and campaigning for change on key issues affecting our members.

“We’re delighted to welcome our new Chairs and thank them for stepping up to serve our global veterinary community.”

The WSAVA represents more than 200,000 veterinarians worldwide through its 116 member associations and works to enhance standards of clinical care for companion animals. Its core activities include the development of WSAVA Global Guidelines in key areas of veterinary practice, including pain management, nutrition and vaccination, together with lobbying on important issues affecting companion animal care worldwide.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Newsletter

Receive top cat news, competitions, tips and more!

Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.

One thought on “WSAVA Welcomes New Committee Chairs

Why not meow a comment to fellow readers?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.