Book Review: Simon Ships Out – A heroic cat at sea

Hi everyone,

Today we are looking at the book Simon Ships Out: A heroic cat at sea by Jacky Donovan.

ASISimonShipsOut - jpg

About the book:
***Based on the TRUE events that gave ship’s cat Simon the title of WORLD’S FIRST CELEBRITY CAT in newspapers, film and television many years ago, this extraordinary and warm hearted narration brings Simon’s story back into the limelight for pet loving adults across the globe.***

When Simon, a mischievous young cat, is smuggled on board HMS Amethyst, his simple life amidst the streets of Hong Kong is transformed into an adventure fit for heroes.

But alongside new friend Peggy, the ship’s dog, he discovers a mortal enemy in king rat Mao Tse Tung.

Under heavy fire from the Chinese Communists, the ship runs aground, stranded for 101 agonising days. Despite severe injuries, Simon and the crew bravely battle their respective foes, enabling Amethyst to make an epic escape. Heralded worldwide as heroes, they sail into Plymouth to a jubilant welcome, but further heart-rending tragedy.

Bringing joy and compassion to those on board, Simon is the only cat to have been awarded the PDSA Dickin Medal, the highest honour for animal gallantry in wartime.

Based on the true events of Amethyst’s ‘Yangtze Incident’, Simon’s quirky yet emotional cat’s eye narrative is sure to move and entertain all who read it.

A purrfect read for fans of “A Street Cat Named Bob”, “Solomon’s Tale” and “Alfie the Doorstep Cat”.

ASIp30 and george

Our verdict?
A purrfect book of all ages that are looking for a cat themed yet action filled book! The author had us glued to our Kindle screen until we had to put it down again. She did an amazing job at writing the book out of the perspective of Simon.

Looking for a book for cat lovers? A book to teach your children about a piece of history in a fun and engaging way that they will love? Well you have found both rolled into one! Truly a book for all ages that will keep you excited to turn over to the next page! 🙂

The book is available from Amazon US, UK and DE

You can also find out more about the book on the official site here.

More about the author:
Jacky Donovan
Jacky Donovan might not have nine lives, but she does have a few. Having become bored of being a ‘Stepford’ housewife in Southampton, Jacky packed her bags and headed to London just over a decade ago. She’s now an established author and, more importantly, curious about cats. Her latest book “Simon Ships Out: A heroic cat at sea” – the memoir of the world’s first celebrity cat! – has just been published to great acclaim in the UK. She is a regular contributor to Huffington Post and Sabotage Times.

In between her writing she has recently trekked to see Mount Everest; tandem jumped from a tiny plane; been on Canarian TV due to her crazy long fingernails; run a lesbian dining club; escaped from a yoga holiday in a dinghy; and regularly does charity work for Breast Cancer and Gay Pride. She currently spends her time between London and Gran Canaria.

And as a little extra here a few images of the REAL Simon:

ASIp48 PDSA - Simon - ship's cat aboard HMS Amethyst  - who received the PDSA Dickin Medal

ASIp215 PDSA - Simon in quarantine

P.S. Don’t forget to sign up for our new Newsletter here. To always get an update of our posts on Tuesdays.

Thanks,

Marc

Sign-up to our FREE Katzenworld Newslettter
Get the latest content directly to your inbox.
We respect your privacy and will never pass your data to third parties.

Advertisements

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Simon Ships Out – A heroic cat at sea

  1. Looks very interesting. I have one little cat book with several short stories that I have read at least four times over the years. I love this little book but I believe it’s time to purchase a new cat book, don’t you?

Why not meow a comment to fellow readers?